Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SSI Headers Fittment, F*** or I am an amateur
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nditiz1
So after getting my motor back together I'm trying to tune the carbs. One of the tricks I found on google is to hook up a vacuum to your exhaust and spray the fittings with soapy water to find leaks. Well I did it and all 4 header tubes to the heads make bubbles. So I started to dismantle the exhaust and put it all back together. This time double checking the trueness of the headers AND annealing the gaskets, which I did not do the first time. Bolt it all back up, torque to spec and bubbles still WTF.gif They are a tight fit getting on meaning I have to wrestle them onto the exhaust studs but this is ridiculous. Any other tricks of the trade I missed? Do I need to bend the stud loops so that the exhaust slides right up against the gaskets without fighting it back and forth, left and right?
sithot
QUOTE(nditiz1 @ Jul 24 2018, 08:20 PM) *

So after getting my motor back together I'm trying to tune the carbs. One of the tricks I found on google is to hook up a vacuum to your exhaust and spray the fittings with soapy water to find leaks. Well I did it and all 4 header tubes to the heads make bubbles. So I started to dismantle the exhaust and put it all back together. This time double checking the trueness of the headers AND annealing the gaskets, which I did not do the first time. Bolt it all back up, torque to spec and bubbles still WTF.gif They are a tight fit getting on meaning I have to wrestle them onto the exhaust studs but this is ridiculous. Any other tricks of the trade I missed? Do I need to bend the stud loops so that the exhaust slides right up against the gaskets without fighting it back and forth, left and right?