Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Upgrading Brakes....WHY?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
G.MILLER914-6
This may be a little long winded but im a mechanical engineer and this has always bothered me. can anyone explain this to me? Every magazine article that i read talks about upgrading brakes (BIG Reds, blah blah etc..) i have always been told that maximum breaking is with the tires on the threshold of lock-up (locked-up tires increase stopping distance) if this is the case then, and stock brakes are capable of locking up tires bigger brakes can not stop the car any quicker, they can only decrease the effort required to stop the car. stopping distance is only effected by weight, and grip, and larger breaks will add more weight (unsprung) and increase stopping distance! Brake Fade is a seperate issue and i will concede this, its just every article i read always talks about the increadable new stopping power. AM I WRONG?
Bleyseng
For a street car you are so right, for a track car the brake fading issue is important. As long as your brakes are in top condition leave em alone. If you want to change something try changing the pads compound.

Geoff
dan10101
I upgraded my brakes with my 5 lug conversion, but what I mainly did was have vented rotors, which will help for track. My main reason for wanting to upgrade brakes is because my stock calipers just where not cutting it, I rebuilt them and they would not stop worth beans.. Now I put a new 19mm m/c and a "t" fitting for the proportioning valve.

If your car is a street car, Just get some good expensive pads (unfortunately you get what you pay for..) a good bleeding job, make sure everything is in tip top condition (this is your safety and the safety of everyone else on the road where talking about..) and you should be fine.

PS. Andyrew's post.. too lazy to swich comps tongue.gif
Jeroen
You're right
Bigger brakes are only needed when you have encounter fading problems