Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Two fuel filters?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Stltri
I have a new to me 74 1.8 with dual carbs, with a long to do list that I'm slowly sorting out. Recently, I have replaced leaking fuel lines coming from the tank going into the filter/pump (that has been relocated in the steering rack space). Next was to investigate if it already had ss fuel lines. Sadly it does not. But what puzzled me (and I may be wrong since I'm a newbie), is that the aging plastic line coming from the firewall leads to what appears to be the original fuel filter in the original bracket (somewhat sweating a bit of gas around the line insertions) before going into the engine/carbs. My question to the forum, is this typical? Can I remove this second fuel filter (or is this not a filter but rather a fuel regulator?) and connect the lines directly going to the carbs? Alternatively, I can replace the "second" fuel filter with a new one since the engine is running relatively well (I can attach pics later if needed).
jim_hoyland
Pics help..... smile.gif
sdoolin
Pics would help a lot. That sounds like it might be a fuel pressure regulator. If PO did not install a low pressure pump, then there would need to be a pressure regulator to bring fuel pressure down to the 3PSI(ish) neighbor hood needed for carbs.

I run three filters in my dual carbed 2056 (4 if you count the sock inside the tank). One filter exiting the tank just before the pump, one filter in line just before "first" carb, then one more in the fuel line that returns to the tank.

Carbs are expensive and idle jets easy to plug, so I believe more filters are better (plus they are cheap).

Hope this helps...
Stltri
QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Sep 12 2018, 08:50 AM) *

Pics help..... smile.gif

here you go jim..

fuel filter and pump relocated to front in steering rack panel (i just replaced the rubber lines)
Click to view attachment