Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Carb issue's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mb911
I have some clean (so I think) Weber 40s for my engine.. Trying to get the engine running. I can get it to fire and run 5-10 seconds and it dies out.. This is not off of the idle Circuit.. I have little experience with webers and some experience with zenith 40 tins.. Mostly efi on my 911s and 914s.. I put new gaskets and correct new jets in everything.. What would be your suggestions as first thing to look at? Accelerator pump squirters on 456 bank don't work as the bowls empty and don't refill ..

Love to borrow a set of carbs to set timing and refigure out the carbs but not sure if that is possible.

Any Weber carb experts?? The new ones are looking pretty enticing...
mb911
Click to view attachment
Mark Henry
Likely the float valve (grose jet) is sticking , hole in the float (waterlogged), incorrect shims under float valve(s) and/or float tab is incorrectly bent.
Never use compressed air on the float or fuel inlet, it will destroy the floats.

https://www.piercemanifolds.com/category_s/316.htm

There are tools you can shop make for setting the floats, but this below is faster/easier.
http://www.sierramadrecollection.com/Carbu...914-p16605.html
mb911
QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Nov 10 2018, 05:01 AM) *

Likely the float valve (grose jet) is sticking , hole in the float (waterlogged), incorrect shims under float valve(s) and/or float tab is incorrectly bent.
Never use compressed air on the float or fuel inlet, it will destroy the floats.

https://www.piercemanifolds.com/category_s/316.htm

There are tools you can shop make for setting the floats, but this below is faster/easier.
http://www.sierramadrecollection.com/Carbu...914-p16605.html

Ok great thanks good place to start. I do have that tool so that will be helpful..
914forme
? about the float setting tool.