Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Valance
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
cpavlenko
Do I really need this on the rear. I hear, yes it's there for a reason, and no holds in the heat and air drag? I have GT Racing headers on engine with the exhaust tip going to he rear left. Type 4 motor built to a 2.0 from a 1.7.
Dion
I’m not an engineer or aerodynamics expert but
I think it’s mostly cosmetics. I’m building a GT tribute and no longer
running a valance. Do what looks right to you.
& yes I think it contains heat and scoops snow!
Dave_Darling
I do not feel it is needed.

--DD
Larmo63
Cars without it look (to me) like something is missing.

Track cars: no rules
Krieger
You don't need it. I have one on my street car. Not a my track car. It's more pleasant to remove or install your carbureted motor without the valance. Go with what you like.
wes
Best choice is your choice! I personally chose not.
cpavlenko
QUOTE(Larmo63 @ Mar 7 2019, 10:59 PM) *

Cars without it look (to me) like something is missing.

Track cars: no rules

agree.gif
mepstein
If you have a cool exhaust, show it off.
Cairo94507
It really is personal preference. I definitely have what I consider to be the coolest exhaust, made by Ben, all stainless steel and it is a work of art, very pretty. However, I feel the rear of the car looks like something is missing w/o the valance. My car will have the original snowplow valance on it. I also have the shorty (late) valance as a back-up if I ever decide to change the look.
porschetub
Mine will be coming off then I can show off my dented up stock "6" muffler av-943.gif .
I have always considered it to be a trim piece that finishes off the rear of the car nothing more.
Coondog
Before and after
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Beach914
Put a front LE spoiler on the rear ! I just saw another car listed in an online ad that had one.

Also had a luggage rack attached to the back with chrome runners mounted on the trunk.