Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1-2-3 Ignition Settings
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jim_hoyland
I had the 1-2-3 installed last week and the performance is noticeable improved; based on the chart below, what would be the difference between Curve 2 and Curve 3 ?

My '75 L-Jet has the 2L crank, 96mm Pistons, and a larger Vanagon TB

So, it feels good on curve 2, what might happen going to curve 3 ?
maf914
Okay. I am not an ignition expert, but the max advance/RPM figures are interesting. On my 76 2.0L I always set the timing at 27 degrees at 3500 RPM (per the Haynes manual). The above chart indicates max advance figures of 22 or 23 for the various 914 options. With the 1-2-3 distributor, can the max advance be adjusted upward? How about the shape of the advance curve?
jim_hoyland
QUOTE(maf914 @ Mar 29 2019, 06:14 AM) *

Okay. I am not an ignition expert, but the max advance/RPM figures are interesting. On my 76 2.0L I always set the timing at 27 degrees at 3500 RPM (per the Haynes manual). The above chart indicates max advance figures of 22 or 23 for the various 914 options. With the 1-2-3 distributor, can the max advance be adjusted upward? How about the shape of the advance curve?

IIRC, Ed at 1-2-3 said one has to add 10 to those max advance figures. Not sure of the reasoning, but that was communicated to me.
I had my local Indy do the conversion, so i’m Not up on any of the details.
The car runs smoother, nice mid-range RPM performance, no pinging so far, and temps are satisfactory.
restore2seater
QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Mar 29 2019, 08:49 AM) *

IIRC, Ed at 1-2-3 said one has to add 10 to those max advance figures. Not sure of the reasoning, but that was communicated to me.
The car runs smoother, nice mid-range RPM performance, no pinging so far, and temps are satisfactory.