Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: where are all of the mechanics to repair these cars?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dr914@autoatlanta.com
Would be be a great career for someone who loves Porsches!Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment
dr914@autoatlanta.com
Click to view attachment
jtprettyman
You ever think about an apprentice program?
preach
QUOTE(jtprettyman @ Apr 9 2019, 03:47 PM) *

I think that would be a great idea. I graduated an apprentice program and love what I do.
dr914@autoatlanta.com
always an apprentice program for a person with talent. Some really have it some, who aspire to be a mechanic do not. We can always tell within a week
914Sixer
Not may chances these days to learn about turning wrenches. If you can't do it on a computer, kids are lost on what to do. Problem solving is not something taught these days. I went to several body shops and asked if they had any metal men. I had to explain what they were. They only have remove and replace people.
GeorgeRud
I think the reality shows on MotorTrend make folks think that metal work and body finishing is something that can be done quickly. Unless they bring back shop and other technical courses in high school, I think we’ll see all future fabricators come from overseas. Even good mechanics that can diagnose and repair systems (not just replace components) are getting hard to find.
jtprettyman
QUOTE(preach @ Apr 9 2019, 03:52 PM) *

I think that would be a great idea. I graduated an apprentice program and love what I do.