Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Relay board grounding
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tmc914
While tracing the brake indicator light I fell into the rabbit hole and found this wire just hanging out under my relay board. Noticed it when I took the cover off. Kind of funny that I have owned the car for a year and am only now starting to see these things. The po said there were a few "electrical gremlins" in the car. He was not kidding. Fortunately for me I am a licensed electrician and should be able to figure out these things. Wait, cars are nothing like what I work with for wires. Well, wires is wires I guess.
Anyone know and/or have a picture of where this wire is supposed to go? I am guessing somewhere on the relay board. FYI, the car is running okay, so this must just be extra (smile face).
Click to view attachment
ejm
Looks like red wire. The factory always used brown for ground. Most likely left over from some previous repair or modification.
tmc914
QUOTE(ejm @ Apr 28 2019, 02:47 PM) *

Looks like red wire. The factory always used brown for ground. Most likely left over from some previous repair or modification.

The color is off because of several repaint jobs. Not even sure what color it was originally.
bbrock
Looks like a handyman special to me too. You have a rear window defroster which will have a single ground wire coming from its harness to that ground terminal which I think I can see in your picture. The rest of the ground wires should be bundled to a single terminal which I can also see. I think the mystery wire is extra like you guessed. Does the terminal on the other end look factory?
Spoke
QUOTE(ejm @ Apr 28 2019, 02:47 PM) *

agree.gif

It looks like the wire is solid and not stranded.
Spoke
Here's the schematic for the relay board. There are no ground wires connected to it. All wires to/from the the relay board are in the 2 connectors.

The only ground is pin 10 on the connector to the cabin.
tmc914