Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: North Carolina inspection
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tazz9924
So im new to the carolinas, and therefore i have to get my 914 inspected at least once and i have a couple questions. Will they fail a car for not having those ugly wart lights on the side? And will they fail a car if the pop ups aren’t operational (my right one stopped working and i haven’t fixed it yet, it needs some new wires.) Is anyone here by chance an nc inspector that can help me out or know someone who does them and isnt a super stickler?

ps. side question what is the North Carolina antique plate for? is it like washingtons collector plates where it doesn’t require tabs/inspections but applies driving limits?
sithot
You have to submit to an inspection to get vintage plates in NC.
They are sticklers when it comes to these inspections. I’ve seen cars lose their original VIN plate as it was determined to have been removed during a restoration. They install their own assigned VIN to the offending vehicle.
dlee6204
What inspection are you talking about? And what County do you live in?

To get the vehicle title transferred, since it’s coming from out of state and over a certain age then a DMV inspector has to check it out which is more or less a VIN check. At least that’s what I had to do a few years ago.

Some counties require a safety inspection which most mom & pop places don’t even bother to look out the window at your car. They just run the VIN and mileage in their system. To be safe though I’d make sure all major systems work. Lights, horn, wipers, etc. Just checked... cars over 35 years don’t require a safety inspection.

Some counties also require an emission test which won’t apply for vehicles older than 1996

And some counties don’t require any inspection if it’s over a certain age.
Superhawk996
There's always the option to move.