Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Turbocharging a 914...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
electrolime
Hello there and pardon me for my igorance. I am new to the 914 community and have a few questions. How come I see no threads or anything on turbocharging 914s? Is there something I don't know? Is it really hard or expensive to turbocharge them? Where can I find information on turbocharging them? What would you use as fuel enrichment if you were to turbocharge a 914? Also, just add anything you know or any experience you have with turbocharging 914s.

Thanks!
-Pat
Verruckt
QUOTE (electrolime @ Jun 24 2005, 11:13 PM)
I am new to the 914 community and have a few questions. How come I see no threads or anything on turbocharging 914s?

It's because "you can't turbocharge a 914".

WooHoo! I'm the first to say it!!!! smilie_pokal.gif

J/k. It can, and has been done. Use the search feature, there will be plenty of threads on it.
Mueller
you can turbo a lawn mower if you want, a motor is a motor, does not matter what it is installed in smile.gif

plenty of turbo 914's here, a few /4's and a few /6's
....fuel managment handled by modified stock D-jet fuel injection (not the best method), CIS*, and aftermarket fuel injection.....prices range from just a few hundred bucks using junkyard parts to thousands of bucks...no kit's anymore, you'll have fab it all up...if serious, buy a few turbo books and do as much searching as possible...it normally falls into the category that if you have to ask how to do it, you shouldn't be attempting it....

*google it if you don't know what CIS is
iamchappy
Heres one for the asking.
iamchappy
And the latest version.
iamchappy
2 much fun
Britain Smith
Here is my turbo on a type-4 engine...in a 912 though.

-Britain

user posted image

user posted image
Evill Ed
Look here.

http://community.webshots.com/album/56139700KTKzDo

Ed
redshift
huh.gif

Anyways, yes, it is too hard, or too expensive.

M
airsix