Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine Re-Seal Guidance
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tvdinnerbythepool
Hey all,

Whilst the engine is out and I repair the hell hole, I’d like to re-seal the engine. Definitely leaking and making a mess in the garage as well as the cloud of smoke as it warms up and the HEs cook off the fresh drips.

I am new to the type IV and was wondering if you guys could give me a list of...
-what seals there are to be replaced?
-Order in which to replace?
-recommendations on kits or vendors for needed seals?

Thanks for the guidance! It’s greatly appreciated welder.gif
mark04usa
I resealed my '70 1.7 a couple of years ago. Plan to replace oil cooler seals and push rod tube seals with valve cover gaskets. On the top side, oil pressure switch is a common leaker. Good time to replace leaking trans seals as well.

Since your car is an early 1.7, be aware that it likely needs the smaller diameter push rod tube seals (on the cyl head end IIRC). It can be hard to find the correct push rod tube seals for early 1.7, and few of our parts suppliers are aware of the difference. beerchug.gif
rhodyguy
Go to Costco and get a package of paper towels. Gasket under oil fill tower, Under top of fill tower, new boot for oil pressure sending unit...while you're in there, new engine tin to chassis seals, clean the engine comp, treat battery area with some baking soda (mist with water first and sprinkle it with a kitchen strainer), treat surface rust, everything you might want to do will take 1/4 of the time with the engine out of the way.

Do you plan on removing the engine tin? The add on item list has a steep curve.
ndfrigi
Maybe need new Rear main seal and also Oil pressure switch beside the above mentioned already.

Check 914rubber site and Pelican parts site.
tvdinnerbythepool