Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What to do while the engine tin if off?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tdskip
This is my first time pulling the engine tin off and it looks like I need to pull the distributor and intake as part of that job.

I’m going to get the alternator rebuilt locally but I want to see what other things I should be thinking about at this point.

Oil cooler seals? Intake gaskets etc?

Thanks!
iankarr
Assuming the engine is out of the car, I’ll start...

Oil cooler seals
Pushrod tube seals
Valve adjustment
Intake gaskets
Front main seal (if age/condition unknown)
Clutch if needed (rear main seal while you’re in there)
Refinish fan housing
Cooling flap rod bushings

Carbed or FI? What size? How deep do u want to go? Is the engine running well now?
Dave_Darling
Clean, clean, clean. Get all the gunk off the cylinder fins, cylinder head fins, and the oil cooler.

--DD
Tdskip
Hi guys-thanks for the responses.

Factory 2 L engine, I don’t think it’s been apart before. Tested at an even 150 across-the-board with good leak down figures. It fired up and ran briefly with no bad noises.

Apparently sat outside for some time-the critters build nests under the engine tin.

It has dual Webers on it now but I have everything to convert it to factory FI.

Haven’t been able to drive it in a car so the transmission can be hand shifted through the gears and everything rotates freely but I don’t know if the box is good or clutch or main seal.

Click to view attachment
jcd914
I would add, check over your wiring and replace the fuel hose with stuff that can handle the current fuel.

Jim
sholman5