Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Coil
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
shane
In just getting everything together and excited to finally after a few long years start up my teener I managed to hook up the points to the + side a melt the points wire. I’m replacing the condenser and points is it likely I messed up the coil too. Was just going to replace points condenser first then go from there. Should I be looking for other things also? Thanks in advance for any and all guidance here as I’m not an expert car guy.
iankarr
I’d consider swapping the points for a pertronix ignitor II unit. I know this sparks debate (pun intended), but electronic modules help the car start faster and idle better. Plus they never need adjusting like points. Less maintenance is always nice. Especially if you don’t wrench a lot...
Superhawk996
QUOTE(shane @ Aug 4 2019, 10:47 AM) *

Was just going to replace points condenser first then go from there.

Wont hurt to replace the condensor but a condensor is really just a capacitor.

Capacitors cannot flow DC current.

It is only there to absorb, instantaneous (transient) voltage spikes that are created as the points open and close. It helps avoid arc burning of the points.

So although you had enough DC current flow to melt the wire to the points (because they were closed to ground when you connected to DC +), the condensor (again - just a capacitor) didn't flow that same current.

I know you'll feel better replacing it but thought it might help ease your mind if you don't have one handy.

Coil itself should be fine. Again, it wasn't part of the circuit that got shorted to ground. In fact, the coil really is momentarily shorted to ground as the points open and close. That is it's normal mode of operation. However, since you put the points on the + terminal, there was no current flow though the coil windings.