Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1975 914 1.8L-Going Forward In Reverse
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ballsyfacts914
So...just got my 914, as in today and my first spin was great, all my dreams came true. Then I couldn't get it into 1st gear. After some research, thought I found a solution but then I couldn't get it out of the garage as reverse made it go forward, could get it into 1st though so got that going for me. I am a novice and I expected some issues but dang! Any suggestions?

Thanks to all in advance!
SirAndy
welcome.png

Not trying to be condescending but are you sure you know where reverse is?

R 2 4
1 3 5

idea.gif

rhodyguy
You have to push against a spring loaded plate for the R/1 plane. Push firmly to the left. You'll feel it. What you think is R is prob second. what you think 1st is prob 3rd.
wes
This is a jok right?
Mblizzard
Click to view attachment

If the shift components are worn it can be a Zen like function to find reverse.
jcd914
welcome.png

Check the shift linkage bushing, they can fall apart quite suddenly.
Check the shift linkage set screws, when they get loose finding any gear can be a challenge.
If you have a tail shift trans they are sloppy at best and any wear or play is exaggerated.

Jim
ballsyfacts914
Oh yeah, I will say I was initially confused but I know where reverse is.
ballsyfacts914
Nope, wish it wasn't.
ballsyfacts914
I appreciate all the responses, I can shift through all the gears when the car is off so I don't think it is me missing the gears, I think I need to replace some bushings, just not mechanically inclined, at least not yet, to handle such an issue.
Mblizzard
What year is your car?

Can you get into reverse when engine stopped and then start the car and get it to go in reverse?
ballsyfacts914
QUOTE(Mblizzard @ Aug 29 2019, 02:11 PM) *

What year is your car?

Can you get into reverse when engine stopped and then start the car and get it to go in reverse?