Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to 1976 Porsche 914 project
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pistorman
Hello everyone. I am a newbie on Porsche and decided to begin with a "simple" restoration of a 1976 Porsche 914. I'm actually vying to own a 911 soon enough, but I like to hobby around car projects and so far I have finished about 6 cars in addition to working full time in my profession. Naturally I have a lot of the work done by others, but I do direct the restoration, get parts, and research and understand how things are to go in classic restorations.

I bought this 914 from a Copart auction which was an interesting place to find one. The car seems solid. If it has the hell hole issues they will be taken care of. The car doesn't come with an engine but it does come with a transmission. For the entry price I am not frightened of the task. Three years ago I fully restored a 1979 VW Campervan Westfalia with a 2.0. I am looking forward to see that 2.0 work with a 5 speed transmission and a lower stance and lighter load.

I look forward to all your comments and recommendations.

I am picking up the car on Monday and I'll post more pictures then. Meanwhile here are the auction photos.

Click to view attachment Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment[attachmentid=715
124]Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment
dr914@autoatlanta.com
car would look great back in nepal orange with the plaid interior restoredClick to view attachment
Superhawk996
welcome.png

pistorman
QUOTE(dr914@autoatlanta.com @ Oct 9 2019, 03:24 PM) *

car would look great back in nepal orange with the plaid interior restoredClick to view attachment

My thoughts exactly! Any place where they sell repro plaid upholstery? Thanks!
porschetub
welcome.png and of course the madness that is owning these cars lol-2.gif lol-2.gif .
Mikey914
Congradulations welcome.png