Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What clear coat to use on PPG DBC?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bbrock
Anyone know anything about PPG's DC3000 clear coat? That's the only PPG clear coat my paint supplier carries. The tech sheet description sounds like it is geared for high volume collision repair shops but I don't know enough to know if it will work for me. They also only carry the medium temp. hardener which is rated for 75F-95F. I'm going to be spraying the car in low 60s temps. The max I can expect is 70F and that is unlikely. I'm worried it will be too slow to get a good result, but again, I've never done this before. I just get frustrated with my one and only local paint supplier. Most of the employees have never painted a car and don't know shit about the products they sell. Hopefully I'm getting my undies in a bunch for nothing, but I don't want to spent a thousand dollars on paint and find out I got the wrong shit. Any advice appreciated.

Oh, it didn't help my confidence that they didn't have enough toner in stock to mix 3 quarts of DBC base coat today either. They are having some more shipped over from Billings. Good thing I wasn't counting on painting this weekend. huh.gif

Click to view attachment
mb911
If all they have is medium temp then just allow more flash time.. Typically its only 5-8 minutes just add a few minutes on that.. It kind of sucks they don't carry shopline as the European clear they sell is pretty darn nice but to be honest its likely the same stuff as dbc but the cheaper packaging..
bbrock
QUOTE(mb911 @ Oct 18 2019, 08:11 PM) *

If all they have is medium temp then just allow more flash time.. Typically its only 5-8 minutes just add a few minutes on that.. It kind of sucks they don't carry shopline as the European clear they sell is pretty darn nice but to be honest its likely the same stuff as dbc but the cheaper packaging..