Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Should I Restore or Modify this 914?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Winterhurst1
Hello everyone, new member here from Southwest Virginia. I just purchased a low-mileage (46k), 2-owner 1973 914. It has the 1.7 litre engine and a dealer installed A/C system. This car spent all of it's life in my local area and has been sitting in a garage for the last 25 years of it's life, rarely driven during that time. I'd been looking for a nice, clean 914 to buy and modify for a long time and when this one popped-up on Facebook marketplace I knew I had to grab it. I've been a big 914 fan ever since I drove one daily for two years after I graduated high school 30 years ago. I wanted one while I was in high school but my dad was completely against it - he was a die-hard American-made car fan and thought I was crazy to want a Porsche. So, I settled for a somewhat dad-approved 1977 Camaro (which I knew would be way, way better on my social life than the 4 door Falcon he tried to get me to agree to). As *soon* as I graduated high school and paid off the Camaro, I immediately went and traded it for a bright yellow '72 914 2.0 which had been modified with motor upgrades, flares and fat wheels/tires. Dad was not happy (to say the least) but boy did my social life improve. Most of the girls in my area hadn't even seen or paid attention to a 914, all they saw was me driving a flashy yellow Porsche haha. I'll never forget pulling up to the red light in town with the targa top off and two (2!!) beautiful blondes riding with me and thank JESUS one of the most popular guys in high school pulled up beside me and looked over - I'll never forget the look of shock on his face (thanks God and Porsche!) smile.gif . Unfortunately in the spring of the next year I was driving home from work and was about 1/2 mile from home when the car stalled-out on me. When I started cranking on it there was a rather large backfire and the entire engin