Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914-6 questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
poulinatwop
hello everyone, I'm relatively new to 914s but have been involved with Porsches for many years. I'm in the process of restoring a 914-6. Overall its a fairly original non-rusty car (it was ziebarted when new). I purchased the car from a gentleman that bought in 1972. I am trying to do the restoration as much back to stock as possible. I was hoping someone could help me out with a few items.

1) what would the original suspension have been on the car and what color were the shocks?
2) Would the car have come with a front sway bar or did the PO add that?
3) The engine is original to the car but at one point the PO tossed the air filter housing. Anyone have a line on where i can find and original air filter housing?

Thanks in advance
Tdskip
Welcome to the forum, and good to hear this one is in good hands.

I believe it would have had a front swaybar as it came from the factory, the size of that may have changed over the years of course based on my prior understood. Unless you are a complete stickler for originality a slightly operated bar can make a positive difference in how the car drives and I don’t think would hinder market value of the car.
mepstein
Front bars were an option but like what Tdskip said, make a huge positive difference to handling.
The original suspension was basically 911T front suspension.
The air cleaners are in short supply but available on the popular forums - World, pelican, earlySreg and ebay. They are plastic, not like the metal 911 units.

welcome.png
Minerva's 914
welcome.png
914Sixer
Boge front struts and rear shocks were grey Koni would have been orange. Bilstein was never an option. Check to see if struts have been updated to later pin type ball joints. Suspension is satin black.
Al Meredith
My original 6 #1937 has the "U" bracket on the A arm but no sway bar. The through triangle holes are not there
ClayPerrine