Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bleed injection? Newby to FI and 914s
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Robson51
We removed and cleaned the fuel tank in my son's new to him 914. Also changed the fuel lines to stainless steel. Other than setting valves, nothing mechanical or electrical was done. Ran fine when parked a month ago.

He tried to start the car and nothing. I'm suspecting fuel, but I am new to fuel injection and don't know where to start, except to see that fuel is reaching the fuel pump. (I'm a webers on 912 guy)

Does the injection system have to be bled when it has been reduced to bone dry empty like this?

How is that done? A search of the threads has turned up nothing. This will be tomorrow's project.

Thanks-

Rob
dlee6204
No bleeding necessary. First I would check to see if you’re building fuel pressure. If not I would expect the fuel lines to have been crossed or a kinked line under the tank.
PanelBilly
Welcome to the group
BeatNavy
I agree, no bleeding required. Which FI is this? 914's stock FI was either D-Jet (1.7 and 2.0 liter cars) or L-Jet (1.8). While they are very similar in many ways, there are unique aspects to each that need to be understood. It can also help us help you troubleshoot.

FI is not hard to understand and it works great -- but all the little pieces need to be there and working properly. Sometimes that is hard on a 45+ year old car.
TheCabinetmaker
Fuel lines in engine bay are crossed
Chris914n6
You should be able to cycle the fuel pump a few times and hear burping in the tank.
Robson51
Thanks everyone! It's a '74 2.0. I'll dig into it tomorrow and see what happens!

Rob
Specracer
The reason you dont need to bleed is that there is a return path, self bleeding.