Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: possible MSD disaster
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
moneysmarts
Thought I'd get geared up for the spring
New plugs, rotor, cap, wires, and Bosch Blue coil.
All installed, nice and neat, fired up the engine, ran fine for 60 seconds....then dead.
No spark at all. Put all the old stuff back, still no spark.
Is my new coil not compatible? It's the same part number as the one I've been running for 10 years. Did I smoke the MSD 6AL?
Please advise
Retroracer
Some thoughts on things to check:

1) the MSD 6AL has a LED which can aid in diagnostics; pull up the instruction PDF and see the options listed; this has helped me in the past

2) I've read that the MSD boxes are unhappy with solid core plug wires; were your fresh new wires solid core? Unclear on the failure mechanism that results, whether coil or MSD box would suffer (or both)

3) check basic +12V battery and switched connections with a DVM or tester to make sure no connections were corrupted (and a solid GND connection from the MSD box too)

hope this helps.....

- Tony

moneysmarts
Thanks Tony
I used the MSD instructions to short the purple and green wires from the box.
It is producing a spark from the coil wire to ground.
Not sure if that means the box is still functioning.
My new plug wires were silicone metallic core, but I swapped then back to the bosch solid copper one's that have been on the car for 5 years.
Still no action.
IronHillRestorations
What engine engine and distributor, and why did you use the green and purple?

The green and purple wires are for a magnetic pickup distributor. Pertronix is not considered a true magnetic pickup.
wndsrfr
QUOTE(moneysmarts @ Mar 8 2020, 06:36 PM) *

Thought I'd get geared up for the spring
New plugs, rotor, cap, wires, and Bosch Blue coil.
All installed, nice and neat, fired up the engine, ran fine for 60 seconds....then dead.
No spark at all. Put all the old stuff back, still no spark.