Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Chasis serial # differs on Karmann and trunk stamp
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mankowski
I noticed today that my Karmann chasis number (2539509) differs, ever so slightly, from the trunk stamp (2559509).

I wonder, why?!

Possibilities:

1. Factory error in stamping - either the door plate or the trunk was stamped incorrectly (easy to mix up a 3 and 5?). This seems improbable.

2. Trunk was repaired by a PO using a panel from the car that was also the 9th car of the day, two days after mine on the assembly line (June 17 vs. June 19, 1970). This seems very improbable.

3. Trunk repair panel (or Karmann plate) was fraudulently stamped by a PO. In my mind, this seems most likely, but does this ever happen? The trunk shows no signs of repair to me, but I have little experience to judge this.

What's your most likely guess?

Other ideas?

mankowski
Photos to judge.
914Sixer
Might be a case TMB (too many beers), TGIF(thank goodness it's Friday) or it's Monday. Probably as simple as the numbers go transposed. Errors are being found everyday. The Karmann factory was cranking them out as fast as they could.
ConeDodger
Hans was drunk. It was after lunch on Friday and he and Franz had just drank beer and partook of the herb...
73-914
My guess would be Beer + Hashish
Jett
On our 73 the last two digits were reversed, and a PCA judge said that there must have been alcohol involved smile.gif
davep
Well, now you have the obligation of standing on your head in the passenger footwell and finding the third copy of the # handwritten on the underside of the dash above the radio. This # in crayon is the official production # for the car, and recorded in the factory records. Usually it matches the other two, but not always. popcorn[1].gif
bbrock
I agree it is most probably somebody on the assembly line popped open a Grolsch a little eary and dialed in the wrong number.