Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: this nose... what is it?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
snflupigus
Ok, I'm no expert on this so bringing it to you all

user posted image

as you can see this 74 911 widebody has the same nose as the chalon conversion I have on the 914. I knew the chalon was modeled after something but what exactly? A stock nose? One company aftermarket for both 911 and 914?

If I had the 13k the guy wants for this car I would be the happiest guy in the world.
I dont, so what I'm thinking is that if I know where i can get this nose for another 911 someday, I'll eventually be able to recreate this car I now have a wicked urge to have.

Thanks for the info.
redshift
That's a 930S. Like mid 80s style for a slant.

I THINK

M
ArtechnikA
the Chalon was just modeled after the '74+ 911, with an extended air dam. a bit like the 934, but i believe the Chalon came first. the inspiration was probably the 911RSR.

if you really like that look, the fiberglass '74 "update" parts from my long-hood 911 are available cheap.... the back has been off for a couple of years, the front will be coming off soon. back is perfect, front needs a bit of repair.

there is no lack of sources for glass replacement parts for 911's; Getty is still my favorite.
Dead Air
a quick search on goooooogle says, seller quoted

Certain to Appreciate in Value with only 36K Certified Documented Miles! Factory 930 Slant Nose Option #505 was a $29,559.00 option
ArtechnikA
QUOTE (Dave Eddy @ Jul 8 2005, 09:34 AM)
Factory 930 Slant Nose Option #505 was a $29,559.00 option

there's no question that it existed; i've seen them.
the question is -when- they existed.
what i recall is that the Chalons came out in about 1975 or '76. not much later than '78 for sure - that's when the 935's appeaared with their shaved headlight look.