Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Revs dip on light throttle
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
gturner008
A little bit of experience and wisdom needed.

I’m new to 914 - so don’t know if this is normal for the 2.0 1976 engine.

Engine runs perfectly. Great starter. Smooth and easily revs. Very happy.

But I noticed when it’s ticking over - and I gently rest my foot on the throttle - and apply a tiny bit of pressure, the revs dip - and it almost wants to die.

Apply more pressure or quick pressure, and it picks up perfectly.

Any ideas on what might causing this? Or is it a characteristic of this engine and injection system?

Very grateful for any thoughts. Thanks. Gary
BillC
QUOTE(gturner008 @ May 9 2020, 04:30 PM) *

But I noticed when it’s ticking over - and I gently rest my foot on the throttle - and apply a tiny bit of pressure, the revs dip - and it almost wants to die.

Any ideas on what might causing this? Or is it a characteristic of this engine and injection system?

Sounds like one of the tracks in the throttle position sensor (the one for the "accelerator pump" function) might be worn away, in the just-off-idle area. IIRC, 914Rubber has replacement board kits available. Might be worth taking a look at.

I did mine a while ago, and it should only take a couple of hours to do, from start to finish, including recalibrating the TPS.
ctc911ctc
QUOTE(BillC @ May 11 2020, 02:55 PM) *

QUOTE(gturner008 @ May 9 2020, 04:30 PM) *

Sounds like one of the tracks in the throttle position sensor (the one for the "accelerator pump" function) might be worn away, in the just-off-idle area. IIRC, 914Rubber has replacement board kits available. Might be worth taking a look at.

I did mine a while ago, and it should only take a couple of hours to do, from start to finish, including recalibrating the TPS.

agree.gif agree.gif agree.gif agree.gif agree.gif

gturner008
Thank so much. Very helpful.