Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Car Buying Advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
R1ghte0us
Desired outcome: My son and I would like to buy or buy & rebuild a 914 together that can be a daily driver for him over the next 8 years. We can then think about restoration/customization if the 914 Bug hit us. So, we do not want the rust bug to progress to much. Less than 100HP is OK, less than stock is OK. Looking for no more than $10,000 for the first investment.

About US
I am a Mechanical Engineer. I am pretty handy. He is a 16 year old eagle scout. We do no know how to body weld, bondo so it looks good, rebuild an engine.

Questions
Can anyone validate these estimates for costs:
Rust repair (external shop)
6,000 Extreme - Multiple structural issues
5,000 Bad - One structural issue
2,000 Mild - Hell Hole
1,000 Standard - Cosmetic
Painting
10000 Body off painting
2000 Tape and paint
1000 Minimal effort
Misc
500 Getting a lost title back?
4000 High performance engine
2000 engine rebuild
2000 transmission rebuild
Questions Con't
What methods do you use to find a reasonable Body-shop? Or Engine re builder?
What skill do you suggest we get first so improve price/quality? Welding (Rust repair), Painting, Engine rebuild?
Some cool cars on "Hot Musclecars.com" they seem to be old post that is hidden. Any way to break through?
We live in Central PA. Any clubs around here or shops that we should check out?

Process we are going to use
Learn as much as possible.
Try to estimate total cost of rebuild of a few cars
Do a hard search for a car that meets the objective.

I can provide my current links on car info, search sites used so far.
*Edited with comments below /6/13/2020
ndfrigi
Welcome to 914world!

with your $10k budget, you will able to find a descent running 914 while fixing it or meaning running project 914.
mb911
Your paint estimate is likely way off.. The welding maybe closer..
Nojoah
QUOTE(mb911 @ Jun 13 2020, 02:58 PM) *