Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Missing Relays
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
fizz74
Hi

I have recently become the proud owner of 1973 914 1.7.
It does need abit of work and I am a newbie to the 914.

After some tinkering, I managed to start the Porsche and get it running although not for long. It sounds like fuel starvation and has a very noisy fuel pump.

When I popped open the regulator plate for inspection, I noticed a few of the relays were missing, the Power supply relay and the Fuel pump relay?
I've not had the chance to get the multi meter on it as the 914 is under covers and its been raining here in the UK for the past few days.

I'm wondering how the 914 started without the Fuel pump relay?
The fuel pump clearly works because I can hear it and the 914 started and ran, I actually drove it(on a private road)??

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks
SirAndy
Does it have carbs? I've seen it many times where people get power for the pump from somewhere else (even directly from the coil) when slapping carbs on a 914.

If it is still the original D-Jet, you need both of those relays.
shades.gif

PS: Post some pics ...

fizz74
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Jun 18 2020, 10:26 AM) *

Does it have carbs? I've seen it many times where people get power for the pump from somewhere else (even directly from the coil) when slapping carbs on a 914.

If it is still the original D-Jet, you need both of those relays.
shades.gif

PS: Post some pics ...

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

The heater blower relay is also missing??
No carbs still on D-Jet.
Still wondering how it started??
SirAndy
QUOTE(fizz74 @ Jun 18 2020, 10:11 AM) *
Still wondering how it started??

Somebody probably hotwired the fuel pump ...
popcorn[1].gif
Frankvw
Welcome to the 914 !