Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Absolute Newbie Engine I.D. Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Tush
Hi All,

Totally new to the 914 so sorry for the Newbie question...I come from the Triumph TR world so I’m like a fish out of water!

Just been to see a very rough 914 car locally to me. The owner of the car is telling me that it’s a 1.7 L ( who am I to argue sunglasses.gif ). My understanding is that the car originally should have been fuel injected with the Bosch D-Jetronic injection (incidently, my Triumph TR8 uses a L-Jetronic injection).

Here are a few pics from today of the engine bay...it’s in quite a disarray. Can anyone tell me what this might be and if it is correct (pretty sure it isn’t).

Looks like I might only be able to add 1 photo so I might have to make an additional post below...Click to view attachment

Cheers
Tush
Tush
More photos Click to view attachment
Tush
1 more
Frankvw
Welcome to the 914 world !
I guess you were looking for a next project and not a driver if I see these pics.....
Hard to tell anything from this pics, but it is a type4 engine smile.gif
And Yes, it should have an injection system, but it was at some point in time swapped to carbs. But it misses a lot, for example all the vacuumhoses around the engine and other stuff.
Listen...before you buy this car, there is already a lot of rust in the pics and those are only the few pics of 1 side of the car....are you sure you sure you are looking for a project
Is this a 1973 914 ?
Tush
Hi Frank, Thank You for the response.

Yes, this car is most definitely a project, if that. It is very rusty and most I think would either just run away or consider it a parts car...it is a 73.

I’ve done a few, full restorations on cars (not 914’s) and pretty much do anything from metal fab, welding, paint/body, mechanical, engine etc..I’m not shy.