Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I’m new to 914s and 914World, but I’m pretty sure my car is not.
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
messick
Hello All,

My name is Nick. There is a chance some people here might remember my father, Tom Messick, who did 914 stuff back in SoCal about 20 years ago.

More people probably remember this car though, a ’70 with a 3.0L motor from a 911SC, named the Rocket. My dad bought it from a dude named Mike Z, who used to post on this forum, but not sure if he’s around still.

IPB Image

It hasn’t ran in a while. And since I’ve recently bought a place in Orange with a garage, and my dad has other projects these days, last week I put it on a trailer and brought it over.

A quick history of its last decade and a half:

After buying the car from Mike, the car was my dad’s daily driver for 5 or so years. I don’t remember any real issues. It wasn’t garaged, as his original 914 (a blue 72 1.8, I hazily remember) was constantly having problem that required it to be apart.

In 2005 it picked up some sort of vacuum leak that caused it to rev at 3k. This was either caused by, or had caused, an air box leak. At the same time, my boss wanted to sell his 1 year old Audi S4 with 11k miles. My dad had recently changed jobs and had a 55 mile commute, so he picked up the S4 and went to and from in air conditioned, 350HP luxury. The Audi became the new daily driver, and the 914 went into a garage at a rental. Since the S4, he had various cars but the last 4 have been EVs (Geo Storm that’s now gone, Chevy S10 he’s putting a Leaf battery pack into to replace the lead acid setup, an E Golf, and now an E Tron.