Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Transaxle Reseal Dilemma
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Ansbacher
My '74 2.0 leaks transaxle gear oil, so I want to pull the transmission (JUST THE TRANSMISSION) and redo all the seals. Having a very small garage, I must remove the tranny in my driveway, then put the car back in the garage while I do the seals at my leisure. Question: can I push the car back into the garage with dangling axles; what do I do with them, support them somehow? Also, is there a way to support the weight of the engine while I roll the car back into the garage? Trying to avoid leaving the car out in the elements while I do this job, as I have never done seals before and don't know how long its going to take me if I run into problems. Need advice badly. Thanks.

Ansbacher
JFG
There are holes with plugs in in the crossmember in the boot floor. If you can get some good solid wire such as a clothes hangar you can hook them up to those holes.
brant
is your clutch wet when you look in the window on the top of the bell housing?

do you know where your leaking at?

the front main, requires pulling the trans
but the side output shaft seals and rear speedo drive seal can be addressed with the trans in the car....

a lot less work than pulling everything
but then again, that front main seal there is no easy way around it.
mepstein
I don't think you will have to add any additional engine support since the lower crossbar will still be attached to the engine and the car.
Jonathan Livesay
QUOTE(mepstein @ Jul 8 2020, 11:51 AM) *

I don't think you will have to add any additional engine support since the lower crossbar will still be attached to the engine and the car.

The crossbar supports the front of the motor the trans supports the rear, so you have to somehow suspend the flywheel end of the motor before you can move the car around. If you just let it hang by the front motor mounts the weight of the motor will break them.
Ansbacher