Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New guy with a Field find 74 914 1.8
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
WaywayNorcal
I am the proud owner of 1974 1.8 liter 914. The PO blew it up and parked it in a blackberry patch. There it sat for the past 6 years. He did pull the motor and tranny and stored them in a shed. So theres that. The car is a huge project. I am an experienced welder and metal fabricator and mechanic so that aspect doesn't scare me. The car needs major body work. Everything is still there as a far as parts. the glass is good.
I work part time at a machine shop and I took the motor down to the shop today. It looks like the cylinders need to be replaced and I am not sure just yet what "blew up" in the motor. I plan on splitting the cases in the next few days. I'll post what progress I make on it. Excited to get it back on the road!
Click to view attachmentClick to view attachmentClick to view attachment
framos914
Congrats on the new project. Good thing you have those skills. I'm sure you have read here about all the usual places to look for rust.
Looking forward to seeing the progress.
The car must be a 75 model year because of the bumpers. 76s had same bumper but only came with a 2.0
WaywayNorcal
i have not read about the usually rust spot issues. Or any other issues regarding these cars. I literally know very little about these cars and all the ins and outs. ANY help is greatly appreciated!
Front yard mechanic
Soap is your friend welcome.png
Blue6
Lots of threads to help guide you in your search for rust... welcome.png
Betty
welcome.png
You are going to have a BLAST restoring that car! smash.gif welder.gif ar15.gif sawzall-smiley.gif driving.gif first.gif aktion035.gif
Tdskip
Welcome!
914_7T3
Great find, nice project!

Congrats & welcome.png
porschetub
QUOTE(WaywayNorcal @ Aug 1 2020, 02:16 PM) *