Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tranny MISS-tery
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ctc911ctc
'74, 2.0 Barn Find - ~22K miles

I have been posting and working on this car for 2 years - I have it running and performing well - about an 80 point driver.

Decided that the 1st to 2nd transition needed work as well as a few oil leaks so I dropped the engine and started to rebuild the tranny.

I watched the Dr. Evil video 100 times - better than anything on Netflix

But I found something that is flummoxing the 914World.

Click to view attachment

I replaced the Dog Teeth and the Synch rings on 1st and second gear. When I opened second gear I found that the Anchor Block was broken into 3 pieces. HHHhhhhmmmm!

Soooo, i ordered a new part from my favorite vendor and received the part above (the one that is NOT broken) and it is too big. However, this is the correct part as per all of the documentation.

As a Sanity Check, I opened up 3rd gear and the same SMALL anchor block is in 3rd as well. Also in 4th and 5th!

My questions to the 914World are:

1. have you seen this before? Calling Dr. Evil @Dr_Evil
2. What might cause one of these to crack into 3 pieces?
3. Might this be the PO putting in the car 911 parts? (these small anchors are found within 911s I am told)

Thank you fellow teeners.....
ctc911ctc
So far 127 people have read this post and not one has responded.

Seems that my Tranny is a Red Herring of the 914 fleet!

My guess is that they ran out of parts and reverted to older bins ( smaller anchors and larger braking bands) to meet the quota?

QUOTE(ctc911ctc @ Sep 3 2020, 06:28 PM) *

'74, 2.0 Barn Find - ~22K miles

I have been posting and working on this car for 2 years - I have it running and performing well - about an 80 point driver.

Decided that the 1st to 2nd transition needed work as well as a few oil leaks so I dropped the engine and started to rebuild the tranny.