Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 911 Cases and 66mm Cranks
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Midway
I have limited knowledge and zero experience with the 911 aircooled engines, hence the question. Some background info to put things into context. The other day I came across a 914/6 engine. Visually the barrels looked a bit big to me so the owner measured them with his calipers and came up with 89.86mm. That would make it an engine around 2.5L.
As I think, 914/6 engines use the 3R magnesium case, then to me a 2.5 that spins up quickly with the standard crank is not the best idea, especially if other mods like cams and cylinder heads help it produce more torque at higher revs. So, short of using a 7R case, aluminium cases seem to be a good idea for longer lasting engines if you don't mind the extra weight.
That leads to my two questions-
1. What aluminium cases accept the short stroke 66mm crankshafts from the 2.0L?
2. Which of these, if any, allow for a direct swap of all the engine components from a 914/6 engine?
scraperhand
As far as I know, the early 65thru 67 sand cast cases and the 3.0 case from a early 930 turbo or early euro careers, all very expensive and rare now, do you ever go down to the white star for a pint
Midway
QUOTE(scraperhand @ Sep 28 2020, 09:52 PM) *

As far as I know, the early 65thru 67 sand cast cases and the 3.0 case from a early 930 turbo or early euro careers, all very expensive and rare now, do you ever go down to the white star for a pint

Thanks for the reply.Have had a few there smile.gif Sounds like you've had the pleasure also.
bretth
I believe their are two companies currently working on making new 911 AL cases. Can't find them in my bookmarks at the moment but I believe there was a thread on Pelican about one of them.
mepstein
QUOTE(bretth @ Sep 28 2020, 10:28 AM) *