Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to clean up a pan o' brake fluid
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
boxster914
I'm about 3 weeks into my relationship with my new '71 Irish Green 914.

Click to view attachment

Firstly, I can't tell you how supportive and informative the 914world.com community has been. You have all been just great. I feel like I can do anything knowing that y'all have my back!

A special shout out goes to Bruce ( @bdstone914 ) who has been AWESOME in helping me sort out my braking issues.

I'm writing in this post to ask about my current problem, which is that my drivers side floorpan is full of brake fluid, bubbling paint and basically a huge mess.

Click to view attachment

The master cylinder failed and so now I need to clean up the pan before I install my new pedal set (from Bruce) and master cylinder.

I'm a total newb so here's what I'm thinking and please tell me if you know better.

I'm thinking about sopping up what brake fluid I can, going over the pan with some brake cleaner to really clean it up, then stripping the paint with paint stripper, cleaning the bare metal with wurth clean prep then painting it with rustoleum flat black paint.

Please let me know if there is a better way to do this.

I, of course, want to prevent further corrosion and to protect the floor.
Tdskip
That sounds like a good plan, always remove it ASAP. Phosphoric acid will remove any rust that has taken hold prior to paint but after wiring brushing.

You should be OK.
Mcraneiowa
Are used to Por 15 on my floor pans as it is pretty much inpervious to anything. Just a thought
iankarr
With POR 15 it's all about the prep. Good stuff if done right. But be super careful and ALWAYS use a proper cartridge respirator with that stuff. There are horror stories of people who lost lung function after just a few minutes unmasked.
boxster914
thanks for the tip. I did not know of this stuff.
boxster914
hey Ian love your videos.
Gint