Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: pictures heat exchangers glavanized or SS?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
brcacti
Here are some pics I took uder the car of left and right heat exchangers and oil filter. The right heat exchanger along with the oil cooler and oil filter have oil dripping down on them. This is what the mechanic will be working on Nov early. I assume these are galvanized heat exchangers can anyone tell? Anyone offer reasons why oil is dripping down on oil cooler, oil filter and right heat exchanger? Remember I am not a mechanic, wanted to get opinions/possiblilities on where the oil may be coming from, might share this with the mechanic early Nov. Click to view attachment Click to view attachment Click to view attachment Click to view attachment
914werke
use a magnet
porsche914rick
screwy.gif
Al Meredith
Before you and your mechanic remove the filter or the oil cooler change the oil pressure switch. They get hot and the plastic cracks with age allowing the switch to leak. Been there AL
BillC
The HEs look like stainless.
Superhawk996
QUOTE(BillC @ Oct 14 2020, 05:15 PM) *

The HEs look like stainless.

agree.gif

Who ever invented the term stainless steel was a liar rolleyes.gif

There are lots of grades of "stainless". They range from those that corrode only minimally to those that corrode heavily but will take a long time to actually rust through even though they look terrible.

SSI heat exchangers are somewhere in the middle of that spectrum.
Superhawk996
QUOTE(914werke @ Oct 14 2020, 03:16 PM) *

use a magnet

Be aware that the 400 series stainless steels are magnetic.

Many OEM exhaust systems on modern cars are 400 series stainless. Have to meet EPA lifecycle requirements for emissions. Will not easily rust though but don't need to look pretty and brown surface corrosion is not a key concern.
914_teener
QUOTE(Al Meredith @ Oct 14 2020, 12:51 PM) *