Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How to read amps on a multimeter
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ThinAir
Electrical systems & I are not friends, so I have little experience with this. I don't know how to interpret these readings or how the range changes what I'm seeing. Searching has turned up lots of stuff that seems to assume that you know this. TIA for the advice.

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment

Both of these readings were taken with the circuit in the same state. (I thought I had one when set to the 400A range).
tom.esh
Top display looks to be .63 amps. Bottom display is 82.4 milli amps. The 400A scale is not a good choice for a parasitic draw. It's a good idea to use the scale closest to the value you are measuring for better accuracy. 82.4 milli amps is the same as .0824amps. still a big difference between the two meters.
Tdskip
@tom.esh - are you suggesting using the 200m setting?

@thinair - are you pulling fuses one-by-one while having the multimeter between the battery and ground lead?
JOEPROPER
Does that meter have a clamp or are you in series? Acceptable draw (rule of thumb) is anything below 0.050 miliamps. I've done parasitic draw test on my car and get 0.010 or less. I use a Fluke 88 multimeter in series. Hope this helps.
tom.esh
yes, the 200ma setting should be fine.
Mark Henry
Volts A- set at 20, this will read in 12V range.
omega set at 2K this works to find continuity (ohms).
For cars I don't use amps much at all.

Red V set at 200 to read 120V for your house.
Mark Henry
For parasitic drain pull all your fuses, try a fuse one at a time watching for a tiny spark.
This way you narrow down your search to one circuit.

For the whole car do the same with the battery + cable, then almost touch the cable to the post looking for a spark. It's a really tiny spark but I can tell if I have a radio clock.

BTW don't do this on a modern car, but it's OK if you have aftermarket FI on your 914.
ThinAir