Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: alternator bench test
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
goobstine
can someone tell me where to hook my leads to bench test my alternator please ??
914Sixer
Make it quick and easy, take it to the local auto parts store. They have all the right test equipment, usually free.
bbrock
QUOTE(914Sixer @ Oct 28 2020, 03:59 PM) *

Make it quick and easy, take it to the local auto parts store. They have all the right test equipment, usually free.

Make sure they can test an alternator with external voltage regulator. I called my FLAPS, asked them specifically this question. "Yep, we can test it." Drove a half hour down from the mountains into town. NOPE, their machine said it could only be tested in the car. Waste of time.

The factory manual has bench testing procedures for components (diodes, windings, etc.).
goobstine
QUOTE(914Sixer @ Oct 28 2020, 04:59 PM) *

That defeats the purpose. I am a student, trying to learn. thank you.
goobstine
QUOTE(bbrock @ Oct 28 2020, 06:01 PM) *

Make sure they can test an alternator with external voltage regulator. I called my FLAPS, asked them specifically this question. "Yep, we can test it." Drove a half hour down from the mountains into town. NOPE, their machine said it could only be tested in the car. Waste of time.

The factory manual has bench testing procedures for components (diodes, windings, etc.).

thank you, there is a way to do this with a volt meter and a dummy light i just dont want to charge the wrong wire. youtube has about half the info i needed it just wasnt specific enough for our type of terminals
porschetub
QUOTE(goobstine @ Oct 29 2020, 04:49 PM) *

Sorry to say but this forum will help you so take advise as given ,the way to bench test an altenator is beyond most skilled guys on here without the right gear let alone a guy learning ,its not a simple test.
Lots of stuff on the net and lot is BS tread carefully.
Good luck.
MartyYeoman