Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need Help - 914/6 Project on Ebay
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
PaulFV8
Hello Forum, I am new to the 914 world and need some help from our experienced members. These are photos of the orange 914/6 project that is on ebay, before I drive seven hours to look at it or ask for more photos what are your thoughts on these areas. There are what appear to be "patch plates" on each side in the engine bay, what is this? Poor repairs? Also the front looks damaged, rust, filler?

thanks for your help
roblav1
I looked at that and decided not to touch it. Just the overspray on other parts makes me think it wssn't painted properly... which would then require paint removsl... then who knows what's undernesth!
iankarr
welcome.png

Hmmm. Others may have more insight on the metal patches, but, to me, 14.5K for a 10 year old painted shell with a disassembled motor seems steep. There are too many unknowns. Definitely ask for more pics...ideally shots of the car before the "stiffening" and paint was done. Also a few other things I'd want to know...

– Did the seller have a complete, running car before it was stripped down? If so, are all parts catalogued and organized? I'd want to see pics of those to determine the condition of stuff. You don't want to be putting beat up parts on a fresh car.

– Did the -6 engine run before disassembly? Has any machine work or inspection been done to verify the integrity of the case, crank, etc.?

– Is there a title in the seller's name?

I'm in the middle of a roller project now and it's very different than restoring a complete, running car. The amount of little stuff that needs to be tracked down is staggering.

You're in the right place for help! Welcome....
mb911
Umm thats not a real six or even a -6 at this time.. No cut outs for the oil tank and a stand off for 4cyl blower motor. Just wanted to clarify.
Cairo94507