Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie rust question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
zprovo
Hello!

I am new to the world of 914s. I was looking at a car on sunday that had good longs, the hellhole looked good, floors looked good (the interior is pulled out). All the exterior sheetmetal is nice and straight. Then I popped the hood to the "frunk". There was a big hole in what I would call the passenger side firewall...what is this called in a mid engine car?

Picture for reference below

I think this is the area where the windshield washer bottle would usually reside. There are a few smaller holes under where the gas tank should be and the pedal box is pretty rusty. Apparently mice had taken up residence, chewed up the wiring and created a bunch of rust while relieving themselves.

How scared should I be of this car? It's been sitting for 31 years, I can handle the myriad of mechanical and electrical issues this car will have, but I will probably need to sub out the rust work.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

Click to view attachment

I don't know why I can't get this to load with the correct orientation... that is the hood spring on the lower left for reference and passenger door beyond.
Tdskip
First of all - welcome!

That is going to be non-trivial to repair. Looks like something was cut for an accessory - one of the curves is neat and clearly not rust caused. My guess is it was cut and not properly protected and then rust took hold. You really need to understand how far that rust extends.

Unless it is really inexpensive it might be better to start with a car without that issue.
mepstein
welcome.png

Tip of the iceberg
brcacti
welcome.png

Is the car selling VERY cheap?
brant
my first impression is "scary"

I'd take a magnet to the longs, (pull the rockers)
might be worth finding a different one.
zprovo
Thank you all for the guidance!