Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rear ride height with Bilstein/Weltmeister
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mayne
I'm in the process of installing rear Bilsteins with 165# Weltmeister springs. Does anyone have a suggestion for an initial height setting for that combo? Not using coilover sleeves, just the standard Bilstein adjustments. Previous height seemed a little lowered with Boge and unknown springs and I would like to get close to that again. Thanks!
Steve
I’m not an expert but I was told to put a level on the long and have it level / flat as possible. Some people like the rake look with the rear a 1/4” or so higher than the front. According to the manual the ground clearance with 165x15 tires is 5.1”.
Cairo94507
I would be one of those that like the look with the rear about 1/4" higher. Overall, my car is about 1 1/4" over than stock. beerchug.gif
Mayne
Thanks for the input. I'll definitely work for a moderately lower look.

I guess my real question is about whether anyone has a baseline setting for the lower spring perch. There are multiple grooves in the shock body and I'm wondering where I should start.
drem914
QUOTE(Mayne @ Dec 29 2020, 12:35 PM) *

Thanks for the input. I'll definitely work for a moderately lower look.

I guess my real question is about whether anyone has a baseline setting for the lower spring perch. There are multiple grooves in the shock body and I'm wondering where I should start.

I think it is 4th groove from the bottom, (3 grooves exposed) but I have 140# Weltmeister springs.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

These are 16" wheels with 205-50 tires though. let me know if I can get you some more dimensions or settings
horizontally-opposed
Where it was set, and where it settled out at with 15x6 and 185/70R15s

rgalla9146
Stock 914 6 springs, 16x8 rear wheels , 225/50 rears, Bilstein perch on 3rd ring, 2
grooves exposed.
Mayne