Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brake Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Robarabian
Hi everyone,

I saw a Facebook post that made me want to ask this question from those that know more.

The poster is converting his car to a 5 lug setup. From the post, it appears he put front stock 914 calipers on the rears. From what I can glean, he took measurements with the dust cover on and off and ended up with a 3mm gap with them on using an adapter of some sort.

Has anyone heard of doing this? He mentioned losing the e brake, but is there some advantage to this, fronts on rear?

Would the Rear calipers from a stock 914 not fit a SIX rear disc?

Is the SIX Rotor thicker, ie., they are not a just convert to 5 lug and go setup?

Things I am still learning file?Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I thought the post was intriguing.

Montreal914
You are not talking about what he used in the front, but here is some information:

914/4;
front calipers piston diameter: 42mm
Rear calipers piston diameter: 33mm
Front rotor thickness: ?
Rear rotor thickness: 9.4mm
Master cylinder 17mm

914/6;
front calipers piston diameter: 48mm
Rear calipers piston diameter: 38mm
Front rotor thickness (vented): ?
Rear rotor thickness: 10.4mm, diameter is also 3mm larger if I recall
Master cylinder 19mm
mepstein
The rear six rotor is a couple mm larger diameter than the one on a four. It can be trimmed down to fit the 914-4 caliper. It's the same width as a four rotor. The solid 911T rotor is easy to find and is the same size as the 914-6 rotor.

I would rather just have rebuilt rear calipers with good pads, new soft lines, etc than rig stuff up and not have an e-brake.
Montreal914
QUOTE(mepstein @ Jan 4 2021, 01:23 PM) *

The rear six rotor is a couple mm larger diameter than the one on a four. It can be trimmed down to fit the 914-4 caliper. It's the same width as a four rotor. The solid 911T rotor is easy to find and is the same size as the 914-6 rotor.