Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Value of a Running 2L Engine?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
GregAmy
Coulda SWORN I saw a thread on this recently, but my Google-Fu isn't helping me...

I'm pulling out a running 2L (GA) engine this weekend, in anticipation of a FAT-built 2056 arriving by truck later this week.

I have no history on this engine other than my ownership, only its S/N. Don't even know if it's the original engine. I know it runs, as I've been driving it for several years. I've seen eivdence to indicate it has been rebuilt in its past (balancing marks, missing clips and stuff) but no clue about what's inside. It was running on D-Jet when I got it, so I'm presuming it still has the D-Jet camshaft. It has been running pretty decently, thought it tends to run on the high side for oil temperature.

I'm debating if I want to sell this engine, or find a place to store it to have it available in the future (though I can't see going through this again in my lifetime.) I also have a 2L race car but I'm not seeing a real problem getting parts if I have to rebuild either one (like the crankshaft I broke on the race car in 2019).

If this thing is worth some spending money, I'll sell it. If not, I'll find a hole somewhere to let it gather dust.

Thoughts?

GA

Click to view attachment
JOEPROPER
QUOTE(GregAmy @ Feb 21 2021, 02:48 PM) *

Coulda SWORN I saw a thread on this recently, but my Google-Fu isn't helping me...

I'm pulling out a running 2L (GA) engine this weekend, in anticipation of a FAT-built 2056 arriving by truck later this week.