Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fully restore or patch
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
gfrewin
So looking for peoples thoughts... I have a 72 and it’s in decent shape. Interior is good, engine, transmission are professionally rebuilt and perfect.
I know the hell hole is good, the body is decent (I’ve had it to bare metal front to behind the doors). Here’s what I know:
The door jambs are rusted out, I’ve found a couple crunchy spots on the floor, longs seem solid but have been patched, rear trunk corners are crunchy.
I have no idea of the condition of what’s underneath as I haven’t removed body panels.

I drive it 2-3 thousand miles each year and I have no intention of entering it in concourse competitions.
I’m still learning how to weld but I’m a decent novice. To the people that have worked on these cars a ton, is it worth taking off the road for a few years and putting it on a rotisserie or should I just patch as needed over the winters?
Any advice would be helpful,
Thanks!
bkrantz
If you check out my build thread, you will see my bias.

You have to decide if you have the time to spend doing a major restoration, and if you enjoy the amount and variety of work required. It will mean months (years?) of 914 fun that includes body and mechanical work instead of driving.
BK911
Its a slippery slope.
I have regrets from both choices.
Hindsight I would probably prefer to regret driving the car more.
gfrewin
QUOTE(bkrantz @ Mar 10 2021, 09:59 PM) *

You have to decide if you have the time to spend doing a major restoration, and if you enjoy the amount and variety of work required. It will mean months (years?) of 914 fun that includes body and mechanical work instead of driving.

Holy crap! You’ve done amazing work there. With my skills and young son I think it would take me 10 years to get to your level.
gfrewin
QUOTE(BK911 @ Mar 10 2021, 10:24 PM) *

Its a slippery slope.
I have regrets from both choices.