Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Manfufacturors for outer console?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Boothy
Hey all!

After getting up close and personal with the passenger side I'm replacing the wheelhouse (par for the course) and the outer console.

Mine looked ok but after I unbolted the suspension (which was pretty easy, I could poke my finger up between the bolts -kinda expected that.

I have a guy on thesamba out west who will cut one out for me so that's good. My understanding is that, unlike other parts from RD, no one re-manufactures these. Is that right?

Click to view attachment
mepstein
Correct.

Hopefully Pete will put it on the schedule. @peteyd

@Boothy - Do you have McMark suspension console jigs?
Tom_T
If your Samba guy isn't Bruce Stone (bdstone on here), then you might want to check with him as to what he may have on hand.

He's a member vendor on here & great parts source.

If you've got time, then they occasionally come up as NOS on evil-bay, here in our classifieds, TheSamba, etc.

Also check with Auto Atlanta in GA, & Rich Bontempi at HPH (High Performance House) in Redwood City, LA Dismantler, Parts Heaven in SF Bay Area, etc. who deal in used parts AA & HPH may have the random NOS if you really want new, but NOS of NLA is usually pricey).

Best to check multiple sources, condition & prices.

Good Luck! beerchug.gif
Tom
///////
dr914@autoatlanta.com
we could easily make it if there was enough demand, but just is not, of course we make the inner console
Superhawk996
QUOTE(dr914@autoatlanta.com @ Mar 15 2021, 06:16 PM) *

we could easily make it if there was enough demand, but just is not, of course we make the inner console

You and Pete probably know better than I what the demand is or isn't.

However, I can say that I would have bought one rather than piece together mine which was salvaged from my chassis. I had to fortify it and replace a bad bobbin that came to me pre-stripped with an EZ out embedded in it.