Pages: 1, 2
eric9144
Its listed in the VIN DB as a factory GT car chowtime.gif
eric9144
*dealer built GT
Click to view attachment
Maltese Falcon
Looks like the yellow Fact Sheet missed the Jacques Duval 1971 Daytona win ¿
John loved his GT, so hopefully (this time) it finds a welcoming home and doesn't travel down the flipper circuit.
wes
Current bid $914! laugh.gif av-943.gif lol-2.gif
infraredcalvin
I used to watch this car race at Seca, have some pics somewhere from 2015 and 2018, I don’t recall it looking as beat down as it does now.... last couple of years look to have been rough on this poor car.
BENBRO02
QUOTE(eric9144 @ Mar 16 2021, 01:49 PM) *

Looks like the vin may be to late to be a factory GT (I’m far from an expert).
horizontally-opposed
I have no idea how this car would come thru a PPI, etc, but I'll say this: Having been on track with it at several events, it's one of my favorite 914s on the west coast.

I hope whoever gets it doesn't ruin (read: over-restore) it, and very much wish I was in the hunt on it.
raynekat
Cool car....but no longer a true GT to me with a 3.2 stuffed in there.
horizontally-opposed
QUOTE(raynekat @ Mar 17 2021, 07:34 PM) *

Cool car....but no longer a true GT to me with a 3.2 stuffed in there.

^ Fair point re: true GT, and should be a 2.0-2.5 with a 901.

With that said, I remember watching a famous 914-6 GT in a straight fight with Cobras out of T11 at Laguna and thinking "A 2.5. Riiiiiiiight…"
infraredcalvin
QUOTE(eric9144 @ Mar 16 2021, 10:49 AM) *

Says right in the sale literature that it was built after the fact using gt parts, so no, not a factory gt. This is a 6 with some really cool parts.
pete000
For sure a cool build with so many factory M471 parts. No a huge fan of the color, but that's just me. Would make a killer street/vintage racer. Has great history and documentation.
davehg