Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: picture rotation tip
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
MM1
Recently I've experienced some frustration posting pics here (yes, gentle readers, and lovers of sarcasm - I worked as a pro event photographer decades ago . . .all film, Hasselblad, blah, blah)- pictures that were shot and correctly oriented were rotated -I even tried edit>rotate 90 degrees (inserted into a post draft 5 times for a full 360 headbang.gif ).

Here's a trick I tried that has worked everytime so far since the issues mentioned above: edit> very slightly crop = correct orientation when posted on 914World!

Hopefully this addresses potential issues - at least for those dastardly "apple users"-lol.

If you (the "Chosen" - just joking CP beerchug.gif beer.gif poke.gif - as I once was, at least in principle, i.e. before I finally acquiesced and had to get a smartphone for work) androidites have had any issues like above and have found any successful tricks, please share . . .then we'll have the bases covered - at least until some other "superpower" releases another platform that allows them to peer into your very soul (camera's always on) during every waking moment, whilst pretending not to (at least legally).

p.s. the issue I had above was with pictures directly posted from my phone, as well as emailed to myself (for downsizing) and texted to one of my kid's phones (for downsizing as well).
SirAndy
We don't rotate images, it's your phone that does that for you.

When you take an image with your phone, it also records the orientation of your phone so it knows that even though you have it technically upside down, to rotate the image to show it to you correctly. That orientation is embedded in the meta data of the image.

Our forum software is 15+ years old, long before there was such a thing as phone camera images.
Our software does not know how to fix your rotation mistakes and displays the image exactly how it was taken.