Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ride Height questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
robkammer
Hi teeners. Getting close to exorcising the demon air bubbles from the brakes and I notice something in driving around. The inside rearview mirror is worthless! All I can see is the pavement 20 feet back.
So, I'm thinking the front is too high or the rear is too low. The car has Koni coil overs on the rear and unknown struts on the front. The Konis are adjustable but only for damping, and they're over 15 years old.
The rear wheels have a significant amount of camber. I watched one of Ian's videos about installing rear coilovers and if I follow his rule of using a straightedge from the rocker panel the rear is too low.
However, I believe I could also lower the front pretty easily.
I'm new to the 914 world so all opinions and thoughts will be considered, absorbed, and used to bring the BB to the straight and level.
Thanks.
Oh, a photo is included.
Shivers
There is some adjustment in the front, but as it lowers the front it messes with the suspension geometry. I had to move my struts out at the top to compensate. There are a couple companies out there that will raise your spindles on the struts so you can lower the car but have the suspension maintain the proper travel and geometry. As far as off the boat stock, that looks about right. Your car's a Beauty
euro911
There's also a bump-steer kit (a couple of thick washers and longer bolts) you can install between the steering rack and it's mounting points if you decide to lower the front end too much.

I'd pay attention raising to the rear suspension first ... some adjustable perch shocks and/or stiffer/taller springs would help there.
scallyk9