Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tuning the weber IDF 40s
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
malcolm2
Built a 2.0 from a 1.8. Planning on putting it in my 72 VW Bus. The IDFs finally arrived from Covid ravaged Spain... 5 mth back order, jeez

Anyway, seems to be running great. Starts right up, idles nicely.

I do get some black smoke at idle and just as i let off of the accelerator from 3000rpm. But if I slowly release from the high revs, I get no smoke.

Engine on a stand....
Pertronix 3 module,
just over 3 fuel PSI
Idle RPM is 800
snail reading on all four is just over 10

IDFs are new from Aircooled.net. I got the bench set up from them, so they should have taken them apart, cleaned them up
added
28mm venturis
idle jets are 50
Main jets are 115

What do you think about getting rid of the smoke?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvuyDxEeyxI

https://youtu.be/YvuyDxEeyxI
bbrock
Can't help with the tuning. I'm still learning this myself, but is that an SVDA dizzy you are running with the Pertronix 3? And what coil and spark plug wires are you running?
malcolm2
QUOTE(bbrock @ May 31 2021, 11:30 AM) *

Can't help with the tuning. I'm still learning this myself, but is that an SVDA dizzy you are running with the Pertronix 3? And what coil and spark plug wires are you running?

Yes all purchased together...... most from Aircooled.net. The Pertronix 3 SVDA came with the flamethrower 3 module. 3 module is supposed to NOT have the key left on burn-up issue.
Coil is pertronix too: COIL 44011 Flame Thrower III 45000 volt 0.32 ohms

All require NON-Metalic plug wires.

I originally purchased copper wires.... had issues since I missed the NON-Metallic..... requirement, Aircooled has nice customer service and since I did buy the distributor from them and they directed me to....