Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Torsion Bars
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jim_hoyland
Curious; Do torsion bars wear out ?
mepstein
I'm no expert but you need to replace if there is heavy corrosion or a wear mark from the rubber bushing failing. They do break. I just came across a broken rear torsion bar from a 911 and it was a thick one. I don't know what did it in but it wasn't pretty.

Funny thing is, a lot of them break while the car is sitting in the garage, not actually while driving. At least that's my experience.

Replacing after 50 years might be good preventative maintenance but on the other hand, there's a thousand other things that can also go wrong on our cars.
jim_hoyland
Thanks for that; how would the ride be affected from both a worn TB and a broken TB ?
Everything has been replaced or upgraded on my front end, but the ride isn’t that smooth
mepstein
Worn bar won’t change anything. Broken will be obvious. One corner will be bottomed out at rest and not really drivable.

Stiff tire sidewalls and tire pressure can make a pretty big difference.
SirAndy
QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Jun 5 2021, 10:05 AM) *
how would the ride be affected from both a worn TB and a broken TB ?

A broken TB literally means that corner of the car is falling to the ground. It'll be sitting on top of the tire and/or strut housing. There's no way to drive the car like that.
shades.gif
914Toy
QUOTE(jim_hoyland @ Jun 5 2021, 10:05 AM) *

Thanks for that; how would the ride be affected from both a worn TB and a broken TB ?
Everything has been replaced or upgraded on my front end, but the ride isn’t that smooth

What diameter torsion bars did you install?
jim_hoyland

What diameter torsion bars did you install?

They are still the original TBs…
windforfun
Mine are almost 50 years old & all is still good. My original shocks still work fine too. I have only 48K miles on the car.

beer3.gif
930cabman