Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Aux. Heater Blower Power-1975 1.8
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ballsyfacts914
Hi All,

I haven't posted in awhile, after having some work done on the 914, I have been enjoying the heck out of the good weather driving around.

I also have been make other small adjustments and finding the parts that have been missing...like the auxiliary heater blower.

I installed my nice used heater blower and it wouldn't turn on. After double checking my connections and that everything was in the right place, I tested the wires from the harness and there was no power.

I will admit now that electrical work is my weak point so I am still learning.

I deep-dived and found a few things amiss, see photos below. The first is of the relay board, I know several of the circular plug in relays(?) are missing. There is also a rogue yellow wire connected to a rogue blue wire, haven't seen anything that tells me why that was done. The second photo is of the harness and everything looks close but I think a few things may be wrong, namely wire colors not matching.

The other thing, the wires that I used to hook into the blower split off from the main harness and don't seem to be connected to the relay board.

I would love any advice on what I need part wise, if I should replace anything, and/or what I need to redo wire wise.

The second photo will be posted, it was too big to add here.

Thanks in advance, really appreciate this community!

Click to view attachment
ballsyfacts914
Harness photo.Click to view attachment
bzettner
Without my Haynes book in front of me, I'm not sure which relay it is, but one of them is for the heater IIRC. One is for the rear window defogger/de-icer, IIRC.

Click to view attachment

Others will chime in. Do you have an extra relay(s) to plug in one or both of the empty locations and try?
ballsyfacts914
QUOTE(bzettner @ Oct 3 2021, 05:38 PM) *