Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Arizona Mechanic?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
volksswag63
Hello! Total NEWB here. I just bought a 75 914 2.0 and I feel like I'm in over my head. 914 World has been a wealth of info for me. I used to drive VWs back in the day, but this car is another level. Does anyone know of some good mechanics in Phoenix to work on 914s? I have reached out to Dan at competition, Doug's and AZ Auto Care. The only one willing to take a look at my car is Dan, but he's booked until December. Just want to get it looked over and in good running order. All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Click to view attachment
JamesM
They are not as hard as they seem to work on yourself... you have to start somewhere.

That being said the only sort of unusual thing on these cars is the engine/fuel injection. Find a local shop that works on later aircooled VW buses and they should be able to handle any issue in a 914.
Coondog
Becks euro
Don Jackson ent

Both those shops are #1

My pick would be Don
Steve
Just curious what about stuttgart Southwest in Tempe. They worked on my car when I lived there 25 years ago.
Costa05
Dont have a mechanic to recommend but nearby in
Laveen AZ.
Front yard mechanic
Call his bluff and schedule for December I bet he will fit you in before then .
ndfrigi
Welcome to 914world @volksswag63

Is it currently running?
Fuel Injection or carbs

Maybe share a picture of the engine from top view.

I’m sure with your experienced with VWs, 914 should be easy for you also.
914e
Depending on what is needed to be done Patrick Motorsports might be an option.
What needs to be done to it?
AZBanks
I have been very happy with Don Jackson and Becks.

I wasn't as happy with Stuttgart Southwest.
volksswag63