Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How much to upgrade a driver that will eventually need restoration?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jrmdir
Hello fellow aficionados:

I’ve spent a lot of time (too much!) on car forums and realize that “what should I do with this car” threads usually result in a lot of “it depends” answers. I’ll try to keep this from running too long but here are some pro-forma answers:

Budget?: not really a problem (however I hate to be stupid and lose money when I sell)
Experience?: I’ve been restoring sports cars as a hobby for more than 50 years! Several nut & bolt, ground up cars that showed and sold very well. I do almost everything except paint and body work.
Why did I buy the car?: Good question. It popped up locally and I was ready for a new project. I’ve owned several 911s over the years and always had an interest in 914s. I think my initial thoughts were split between: A. If I fall in love with it, it could be my next (last?) full-on resto job, and, B. Get it running again (3-years in storage) do some easy fixes and then sell and trade up for a better 914.

The car: (see photos)
Late ’72 build 1973 MY - 1.7. Marathon Blue (L96M). COMPLETELY original/untouched - except for Sebring muffler, (5) American/Gurney wheels and non-factory (but period-looking push button cassette radio.) Original engine, tins, vacuum lines, jack, etc. Straight chrome bumpers. Factory rear window defogger. Missing sun visors, passenger door “pocket”, frunk carpeted floor and front rubber bumper-etts. ODO is broken at 70K miles. Original exhaust pipes missing the HE shells. Interior is 7ish with one dash crack and a few split seams in the seat webbing.

Paint and body work: